Thing of the Day 

Flies Are Spies From Hell bring you A Cheery Wave From Stranded Youngsters: Volume Two

April 4th 2011

This just in from excellent Chichester-based post-rock band Flies Are Spies From Hell, who have compiled another well-constructed compilation of like-minded bands from across the land - 

A fresh new post-rock compilation is available for free download now!!

The second instalment in Flies Are Spies From Hell's compilation series is out now - "A Cheery Wave From Stranded Youngsters: Volume Two" contains some of the very best bands involved in the underground UK post-rock/instrumental scene right today..

    This peek into the murky fertile undergrowth includes a track from brand new Oxford supergroup Listing Ships, a completely unreleased and unheard song from The Rock Of Travolta, a Vessels B-Side, and track from Maybeshewill's "Sing The Word Hope" album. You Slut!'s math-mentalism, Leyaks' proggy psych-out, Bleaklow and Khuda's post-metal beasts, Orders Of The British Empire's huge epic and MinionTV's moment of peace further show how strong the scene has become. The album closes with a metallic Kasper Rosa monster - which even includes a guitar solo........

Cheery Wave From Stranded YoungstersTracklisting:
1. Listing Ships - Skipper's Daughter
2. The Rock Of Travolta - Super 8
3. Bleaklow - The Sunless Country
4. Khuda - Antaeus
5. Orders of the British Empire - When Machines Fall Silent
6. MinionTV - We Are Ghosts
7. You Slut! - On-The-Spot Tina Turner Fine
8. Vessels - Ornafives
9. Leyaks - Spanish Luftkanone
10. Maybeshewill - Co-Conspirators
11. Kasper Rosa - Coronal Mass Ejection

The album is free or you can pay what you like to support a hard-working band.
Go and hear it and download it at one of these places:

  The Vessels' page in particular contains lots of info on all these bands, and I'm already thrilled to see news that You Slut! are completing a new album... A very worthwhile compilation from those Flies... and don't forget, once you've digested those goodies, that Flies Are Spies From Hell are worth a listen too...A Cheery Wave From Stranded Youngsters

And here's the first instalment, released a while back :
A Cheery Wave From Stranded Youngsters Vol 1

--Front Page--