Thing of the Day

New HELLA download - and album release date

August 9th 2011

Just announced today: the forthcoming album by Hella will be released (on Sargent House) on August 30th this year - earlier than expected. It's coming out on CD, download  and vinyl And another preview track is being given away today - download it here: 

Hella 'Tripper' CDAlbum: Tripper
 Label: Sargent House
 Release Date: August 30, 2011

 1. “Headless”
 2. “Self Checkout”
 3. “Long Hair”
 4. “Yubacore”
 5. “Netgear”
 6. “Kid Life Crisis”
 7. “On The Record”
 8. “Furthest”
 9. “Psycho Bro”
 10. “Osaka”

A brief intro to Hella from Sargent House (alternatively, you can learn all you need to know if you scroll down and watch that legendary video of the duo performing in their early days):

 Hella has long been celebrated for bringing a rigorous and artful musical complexity to the punk aesthetic. Now, after a four year hiatus, the legendary Sacramento duo founded in 2001 by drummer Zach Hill and guitarist Spencer Seim has returned with their fifth album, Tripper. As the title suggests, it's a wild ride that finds Hella in classic frenetic anthemic form.
 The sonic experimentalists have stripped the band lineup back down to the original 2-piece, returning to the streamlined aggression of their earlier work while expanding the barriers of their sound. Tripper is Hella's most "focused" album to date -- and, by focused, we mean in a kaleidoscopic way. While each of the multiple riffs and movements of every song have a clearly defined mood and feel, the way that Hill and Seim breeze between time signatures and parts is like watching the scenery unfold within a kaleidoscope. It's entrancing in its beauty and beguiling in its complexity.

zach Hill and Spencer Seim
 Hella's previous album, There's No 666 In Outer Space (Ipecac Recordings) saw the band expanded to a 5-piece, with lead vocals, bass and two guitars. But, it's the well defined space in-between the duo's impenetrable foundation of drums and guitar that Hella revisits on Tripper with a vigor. Seim's guitar sounds like a one man orchestra of six-string flagellation while Hill's eminently esoteric playing style and innovative collection of repurposed drum equipment redefines the pair's ground-shaking impact.

 Hella formed in 2001 when teenage friends Seim and Hill abandoned a previous full band project to start anew. Their name was derived from Bay Area slang meaning "really", "excessively" or more literally, "hell of a." Quite fittingly, the duo proved to be "hella" talented and innovative. Early albums and EPs on Kill Rock Stars offshoot 5 Rue Christine and Suicide Squeeze, as well as incessant touring saw the band develop a massive following in underground DIY circles for their incendiary live shows. After later experiments with an expanded lineup, Hella took a break from recording and performing to focus on myriad other projects before reconvening in 2011.

Tripper will be available everywhere on August 30th, 2011 via Sargent House.

--Front Page--