OTHER ROCK SHOW on RESONANCE 104.4FM all over London and worldwide via -  Sunday 14th October 2007 (10.00pm) with Marina Organ atthe controls

INTRO: UPSILON ACRUX "Petrovich(Cuneiform)
1:  YOU AND THE ATOM BOMB "Return Of The Condor" (Sink And Stove)
2:  THAT F*CKING TANK "The Awesome Magnet" (On The Bone)
3:  RING "It" (demo)
4:  SLEEPYTIME GORILLA MUSEUM "Formicary" (The End Records)
5:  SLEEPING PEOPLE "People Staying Awake" (Temporary Residence)
6:  SLEEPY PEOPLE "Heroes And Sheroes" (Org)
7:  RASHOMON "The Mascot" (Mirrors)
8:  CARDIACS "Hurricane" (Alphabet)
9:  QUACK QUACK "Spinach" (On The Bone)
10: PLAID and BOB JAROC "I Citizen The Loathesome (Warp)
11: PHANTOMSMASHER "Bishop Hopping" (Ipecac)
12: ROLOTOMASSI "Curby" (Holy Roar)
OUTRO:  Koenjihyakkei "Grahbem Jorgazz" (Skin Graft)

Hello again peoples, here is the Other Rock Show hasty essential playlist guide so that you can hunt down which of these beauties you want to spend the rest of your days obsessing about:

UPSILON ACRUX are possibly the finest avant rock band on the planet - they're from the US, and tonight's intro track is from their recently released album 'Galapagos Momentum'. Ten melodically, rhythmically, gratuitously complex compositions, not one second of filler. Available from

YOU AND THE ATOM BOMB are from Bristol, this is from new mini-LP 'The Spirit Of Things' on Sink And Stove records - more info at and 

THAT F*CKING TANK (yeah I know, but some of you are having a sneaky surf at work or school where foul language gets a site blocked aincha) have a new single coming out on On The Bone records (Leeds, UK) released as 7" picture disc and tour DVD; more info from and 

The legendary RING recorded this around 1989, originally coming out as a tape-only album sold at gigs and mail order called Nervous Recreation. No re-release as yet.

Oakland California-based cult outfit SLEEPYTIME GORILLA MUSEUM released this earlier this year on the superb album 'In Glorious Times'... rumoured to have an amazing stage show and play self-built unique instruments, see

 San Diego four-peice SLEEPING PEOPLE have this delightful album just out on Temporary Residence, the album is called Growing and this track had the welcome guest voice of Rob Crow (Heavy Vegetable, Thingy).... not to be confused with UK band SLEEPY PEOPLE - this track was originally on one of their early 90s tape EPs sold at gigs, then re-released by Org Records with other rare tracks as Blunt Nails In A Sharp Wall (still available from Org mail order)...Sleepy People split and remodelled as the late Ultrasound, more recently reforming as Sleepy People with some original members.. 

RASHOMON is a project from ex-Guapo member Matt Thompson and the two tracks played are from the just-released album 'The Ruined Map (Film Music Volume 1)' which is very much worth hunting down - email rashomon68 at to find out how. 'Each track on the album is based on a different film - not specifically in the form of soundtracks, but rather as companion pieces to the psychic states invoked by the more bizarre outher reaches of experimental narrative cinema' - a mixture of avant prog, Balkan folk, trad metal, modern composition, drone and psyche rock... includes mellotrons!

This CARDIACS instrumental can only be found on the b-side of 1996 single 'Odd Even' ...I may be wrong, but I'm think it commemorates the English Hurricane of October 1987... that night, Cardiacs were playing the Bull & Gate in London (as a secret gig that I really really wanted to go to but couldn't...). Afterwards they recounted how strange the air was, as many remember the night was completely calm until about 10pm, when it suddenly it wasn't... As they were loading in the gear via the Bull & Gate's dark, somewhat Dickensian little courtyard at the back, everyone noticed how crackly, still and electric the air was, and they swear they saw two shooting stars make a cross in the sky... well, it reminds me of that night! Ok, Cardiacs are ON TOUR!!!! in November: dates at -  they have a brand new (new!!) single out as part of the limited edition Org-An-Ised Singles series, Nov 5th, available direct from

The lovely QUACK QUACK are another band from Leeds, and this was also on On The Bone records, off their label sampler Compilation No 1- 

'I Citizen The Loathsome' is from PLAID's cd/DVD album with video maestro BOB JAROC - out on Warp last year, still breathtaking -

A proper play for 'Bishop Hopping' the PHANTOMSMASHER track that has been the Other Rock Show theme tune for quite some time now. Phantomsmasher is DJ Speedranch, James Plotkin and Dave Witte, still available on Ipecac -

The third Leeds band of the show - ROLOTOMASSI are a five-piece, currently gigging lots, this was from their five track EP on Holy Roar records, London, see

Outro from KOENJIHYAKKEI who are Yoshida Tatsuya (main man in Ruins) and a full band, this from 'Angherr Shisspa' on Skin Graft, hear lots of samples at

Good hunting/listning, Marina Organ 

GENE SERENE - "the next queen of perverted electronic pop" (
Resonance104.4fm is London's first radio art station.. 

Its brief? To provide a radical alternative to the universal formulae of mainstream broadcasting. It features programmes made by musicians, artists and critics who represent the diversity of London's arts scene, with regular contributions from Billy Jenkins, Savage Pencil, John Bisset, Mike Barnes, Matthew  Glammore, Peter Cusack, Caroline Kraabel, Clive Graham, Viv Corringham, Chris Cutler, Charlie Dark, Magz Hall, Harmon E. Phraiser, Paul Hood, These Records, Dave Draper, the Kosmische Club; guests like Faust, Gavin Turk, Shirley Collins and The Magic Band; and numerous one-off special broadcasts by artists on the weekday "Clear Spot". 

Resonance104.4fm is bringing a multitude of experimental sound, new music, radio art and interaction to the capital's airwaves. Resonance104.4fm broadcasts from the heart of London and is simultaneously streamed on the web at where you can also check out our full programme listings.  Resonance104.4fm is the only station of its kind in the UK, providing access radio for London's arts community.

Imagine a radio station like no other. A radio station that makes public those artworks that have no place in traditional broadcasting. A radio station that is an archive of the new, the undiscovered, the forgotten, the impossible. That is an invisible gallery, a virtual arts centre whose location is at once local, global and timeless. And that is itself a work of art. Imagine a radio station that responds rapidly to new initiatives, has time to draw breath and reflect. A laboratory for experimentation, that by virtue of its uniqueness brings into being a new audience of listeners and creators. All this and more,  Resonance104.4fm aims to make London's airwaves available to the widest possible range of practitioners of contemporary art.






cruel cruel cruel
cruel cruel cruel
cruel cruel cruel